## 22.—Legislatures and Premiers of Alberta 1935-55 and Ministry as at Aug. 2, 1955 Legislatures 1935-551

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
Aug. 22, 1935 Mar. 21, 1940 Aug. 8, 1944 Aug. 17, 1948 Aug. 5, 1952	8th General Assembly. 9th General Assembly. 10th General Assembly. 11th General Assembly. 12th General Assembly.	4 5 5	Feb. 6, 1936 Feb. 20, 1941 Feb. 22, 1945 Feb. 17, 1949 Feb. 19, 1953	July 7, 1944 July 16, 1948 June 28, 1952

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> The Ministries from 1935-55 were: 6th Ministry sworn in July 10, 1934 under the leadership of Hon. R. G. Reid; 7th Ministry sworn in Sept. 3, 1935 under the leadership of Hon. Wm. Aberhart; 8th Ministry sworn in May 31, 1943 under the leadership of Hon. Ernest C. Manning.

## Eighth Ministry

(Party standing at latest General Election June 29, 1955: 37 Social Credit, 15 Liberals, 3 Progressive Conservatives, 2 Co-operative Commonwealth Federation, 1 Liberal Conservative, 1 Coalition, 1 Independent,)

Note .- See headnote to Table 15.

Office	Name	Date of First Appointment	Date of Present Appointment
Premier, Minister of Mines and Minerals and Attorney General.  Minister of Education. Minister of Lands and Forests. Minister of Public Works Minister of Public Works Minister of Health. Minister of Economic Affairs. Minister of Economic Affairs and Provincial Secretary. Minister of Agriculture Minister of Industries and Labour. Minister of Industries and Labour. Minister of Railways, Telephones and Highways. Provincial Treasurer. Minister without portfolio.	Hon. Ernest C. Manning.  Hon. Anders O. Aalborg Hon. N. A. Willmore. Hon. James Hartley Hon. W. W. Cross. Hon. R. D. Jorgenson Hon. R. Patrick Hon. Alfred J. Hooke. Hon. Leonard C. Halmrast. Hon. R. Reierson Hon. Gordon E. Taylor Hon. E. W. Hinman. Hon. F. C. Colborne.	Sept. 9, 1952 Nov. 10, 1953 Aug. 2, 1955 Sept. 3, 1935 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 Apr. 20, 1945 Jan. 3, 1953 Aug. 2, 1955 Dec. 27, 1950{ Dec. 23, 1954	May 31, 1943 Sept. 16, 1952 Aug. 2, 1955 Sept. 9, 1952 Aug. 2, 1955 Jan. 5, 1954 Jan. 5, 1954 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 Jan. 5, 1954 Aug. 2, 1955 May 1, 1951 Aug. 2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 2, 3, 2, 3, 2, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3, 3,

## Subsection 10.—British Columbia

The Government of British Columbia has a Lieutenant-Governor, an Executive Council and a Legislative Assembly.

Colonel the Honourable Clarence Wallace, Lieutenant-Governor of the Province at May 30, 1955, was commissioned to office Oct. 1, 1950. Lieutenant-Governors since Confederation are cited in the 1951 Year Book, p. 98.

The Legislative Assembly, elected for a statutory term of five years, has 48 members.

Each Member of the Executive Council and the Legislative Assembly receives a sessional allowance of \$2,000 and \$1,000 for expenses. There is also paid to each Member a living allowance of \$15 for each day's attendance at the session and for each Saturday, Sunday or holiday that intervenes between two sittings of the House; the allowance of \$15 in any session is not paid in respect of more than 40 days. There is also allowed to each Member 25 cents for each mile of the distance between his place of residence and the city of Victoria, reckoning such distance, going and coming, according to the nearest mail route. In addition the Premier receives a salary of \$9,000 and each Member of the Executive Council \$7,500. The Leader of the Opposition has a special allowance of \$2,000 and the Speaker and Deputy Speaker receive an allowance of \$1,800 and \$500 respectively.